Rock of Ages

When my daughter was very young, she had a moving sand art picture. A picture frame held blue water with different hues of blue sand, and when the frame was tipped over, the sand would fall to the new bottom and create a different landscape. I think I played with it more than she did!

Our lives can often feel like that picture frame. We like (or at least feel comfortable in) our current status quo. We’ve got a handle on what seems to be normal. Then seemingly from out of nowhere, everything seems to go topsy-turvy, and we are left feeling lost and out of control. The crazier things seem, the more our circumstances get our focus and attention.

It is especially during these times of chaos that the eyes of our hearts need to look beyond the chaos surrounding us, to the Rock of Ages. No matter what is swirling around us, our God never changes. James writes, “He never changes or casts a shifting shadow” (James 1:17).

In Christ alone my hope is found, He is my light, my strength, my song; this cornerstone, this solid ground, firm through the fiercest drought and storm. What heights of love, what depths of peace, when fears are stilled, when strivings cease! My comforter, my All in All, here in the love of Christ I stand (lyrics by Stuart Townend and Keith Getty).

Near the end of his life Moses sang,

I will proclaim the name of the Lord; how glorious is our God! He is the Rock; his deeds are perfect. Everything he does is just and fair. He is a faithful God who does no wrong; how just and upright he is (Deuteronomy 32:3-4)!

David sang this song after being rescued from Saul:

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety (Psalm 18:2).

This life was never promised to be free from hardship, danger, or just plain messiness. We can get all uptight and unnerved when things don’t go our way, but God is not as concerned with our comfort and circumstantial happiness as He is our spiritual growth and dependence on Him. When our focus goes beyond this life and zeros in on our Rock and our Savior, his peace carries us through. We may not understand why He allows some things to come into our lives, but we can be sure that He is always walking alongside us. And when everything settles, our new landscape may be even more beautiful than the old!

Leave a Reply

